× Search
  1. Home
  2. 1-Plan Overview
  3. 2-Issues Overview
  4. 3-Definitions
    1. A
    2. B
    3. C
    4. D
    5. E
    6. F
    7. G
    8. H
    9. I
    10. K
    11. L
    12. M
    13. N
    14. O
    15. P
    16. R
    17. S
    18. T
    19. U
    20. V
    21. W
    22. XYZ
  5. 4-General Rules
  6. 5-Natural Environment
  7. 6-Natural Features & Landscapes
  8. 7-Heritage
  9. 8-Natural Hazards
  10. 9-Hazardous Substances & Contaminated Land
  11. 10-Network Utilities & Designations
  12. 11-Financial Contributions
  13. 12-Subdivision Services & Infrastructure
    1. 12A-Purpose: Subdivision
    2. 12B-Subdivision in Residential Zones
    3. 12C-Subdivision in the Rural Residential Zone
    4. 12D-Subdivision in the Rural Zones
    5. 12E-Subdivision in Commercial & Industrial Zones
    6. 12F-Subdivision: Marae, Papakainga & Matapihi
    7. 12G-Purpose: Service & Infrastructure
  14. 13-Open Space
  15. 14-Residential Zones
  16. 15-Rural Residential Zone
  17. 16-Rural Zones
  18. 17-Commercial Zones
  19. 18-Industrial Zones
  20. 19-Education Centre Zones
  21. 20-Special Use Zone-Baypark
  22. Part B Maps
Tauranga City Plan

12B  Subdivision in Residential Zones

Updated 11 September 2018

The Residential Zones provide for a range of infill and greenfield living opportunities across the City for the community to accommodate current and future growth. 

These opportunities range from: 

  1. High density environments located in Mount Maunganui where development is characterised by apartment and unit development at a rate of one independent dwelling unit to between 60 and 100m2 of gross site area. Such subdivision is predominantly characterised by amalgamation of parent titles and unit titling of completed buildings;
  2. Medium density environments where:
    1. They are located within the City Living Zones which provide for a range of densities at a minimum of one independent dwelling unit to 200m2 of gross site area. Again, it is anticipated that subdivision will involve unit titling of completed buildings. Amalgamation of lots to create land parcels of at least 1050m2 is also encouraged through the provision of density bonuses; or 
    2. They form part of a comprehensively designed development that is located either within the Suburban Residential Zone or an urban growth area (excluding the Wairakei Urban Growth  Area);
  3. Traditional low density suburban environments characterised by infill subdivision that creates freehold allotments to accommodate detached dwellings and associated outdoor living areas. In these areas minimum lot sizes are not expected to be less than 325m2 , and where subdivision in greenfield areas occurs it is expected that a target average nett yield of 15 dwellings per hectare will be achieved; 
  4. As part of this low density living specific provision is also made in the Pyes Pa West area for large residential lots where the minimum lot size is 1000m2, reflecting topographical constraints; 
  5.  No minimum site area in the Wairakei Residential Zone, providing the opportunity for a range of densities. It is expected that a target average nett yield of 15 dwellings a hectare will be achieved in this zone. In addition, development in the area must be consistent with the requirements of the comprehensive stormwater catchment consents related to Wairakei stormwater management.


Tauranga City Council, Private Bag 12022, Tauranga, 3143, New Zealand  |  Terms of use

Back To Top