× Search
  1. Home
  2. 1-Plan Overview
  3. 2-Issues Overview
  4. 3-Definitions
    1. A
    2. B
    3. C
    4. D
    5. E
    6. F
    7. G
    8. H
    9. I
    10. K
    11. L
    12. M
    13. N
    14. O
    15. P
    16. R
    17. S
    18. T
    19. U
    20. V
    21. W
    22. XYZ
  5. 4-General Rules
  6. 5-Natural Environment
  7. 6-Natural Features & Landscapes
  8. 7-Heritage
  9. 8-Natural Hazards
  10. 9-Hazardous Substances & Contaminated Land
  11. 10-Network Utilities & Designations
  12. 11-Financial Contributions
  13. 12-Subdivision Services & Infrastructure
    1. 12A-Purpose: Subdivision
    2. 12B-Subdivision in Residential Zones
    3. 12C-Subdivision in the Rural Residential Zone
    4. 12D-Subdivision in the Rural Zones
    5. 12E-Subdivision in Commercial & Industrial Zones
    6. 12F-Subdivision: Marae, Papakainga & Matapihi
    7. 12G-Purpose: Service & Infrastructure
  14. 13-Open Space
  15. 14-Residential Zones
  16. 15-Rural Residential Zone
  17. 16-Rural Zones
  18. 17-Commercial Zones
  19. 18-Industrial Zones
  20. 19-Education Centre Zones
  21. 20-Special Use Zone-Baypark
  22. Part B Maps
Tauranga City Plan

1A.5  Plan Background

Updated 11 September 2018

The Plan has been developed through an extensive process of identifying the significant resource management issues in the City. Also relevant to the development of the Plan is the historical planning framework that has guided subdivision, use and development within the City, and within which subdivision, use and development has been undertaken.

The ability to create a Planning Scheme existed from 1926, however there appears to have been no planning controls in place prior to the introduction of the Mt Borough Scheme No. 1, in 1954, with the exception of requirements for approval of subdivision for lots over 10 acres in central government legislation, usually done by the County engineer, and associated surveying/title law. The Town and Country Planning Act 1953 required local authorities to have Planning Schemes and the local authorities prepared their schemes after this time. Prior to these Plans (Schemes) coming into effect a range of standards and building by-laws existed, the first central government legislation being a standard for earthquake construction in 1932. Building legislation was then further introduced systematically by the central government through various legislation. The ability to create local building by-laws has existed since 1867, and appears to have been used in the City with building consents in Tauranga being issued under by-laws as far back as 1927.

The jurisdictions of the Mount Borough, Tauranga County, Tauranga Borough/District/City, and Western Bay of Plenty District evolved from Town and Highway Boards. The Tauranga County was formed in 1876 and the Borough of Tauranga in 1882. The Mt Maunganui Town District was established in 1931 but remained part of the County until 1 April 1937. Various boundary adjustments were undertaken to these jurisdictions through time, with the reorganisation of local government in 1989 the Tauranga District (now City) and Western Bay District were formed from the Tauranga City (previously Tauranga Borough), Tauranga County and Mt Borough. The three plans applied and were known collectively as the ‘Transitional Plan’. A portion of the Western Bay District at Tauriko/Pyes Pa and a small section at Ohauiti and Papamoa were brought into the City on 1 January 2010. 

The following is an approximate summary of those documents: 





Tauranga Borough

1954 - 1971

Provisional Undisclosed Scheme District Scheme

Tauranga Borough


Operative 1 October 1969

Tauranga City Town Plan - Section 1

Tauranga CBD to 23rd Ave and Otumoetai, Changes 1 - 73 from 1968 - 1977


Operative 1 January 1971

Tauranga City Town Plan - Section 2

Maungatapu and Gate Pa from Faulkner 
St, 23rd Ave, Courtney Rd, to between 
Baycroft and Oxford streets to include 
Greerton and Glenlyon Ave. Excludes 
Racecourse and Maleme St areas 


Operative 1 November 1977 

Tauranga City Town
Plan – Section 3 

Covers Poike, Welcome Bay, Racecourse 
and part of Maleme St


 Operative 1 October 1981 

1st Reviewed Scheme 

Consolidated above three sections 


Operative 10 June 1982

2nd Reviewed Scheme

Incorporated Sulphur Point (previously 
under County Scheme) 

Tauranga County

November 1973 

1st Reviewed District Scheme 

Tauranga County


November 1979 

2nd Reviewed District Scheme 

Tauranga County 


Notified September 1988, Operative 23 September 1991 

3rd Reviewed District Scheme

Tauranga County  

Mount Borough 

25 September 1953 

Scheme No. 1 

Mt Borough 


18 May 1954 

Scheme No. 1 reviewed to include part of Tauranga County 

Mt Borough and portion of Tauranga County 


Operative December 1964 

1st Reviewed Scheme 

Mt Borough and portion of Tauranga County


Approved September 1971

2nd Reviewed Scheme

Mt Borough and portion of Tauranga County 


Approved December 1982 

3rd Reviewed Scheme

Mt Borough and portion of Tauranga County 


Operative August 1990 

4th Reviewed Scheme 

Mt Borough and portion of Tauranga County 

Tauranga District Council 

October 1991 

Tauranga District Transitional Plan (3 Schemes amalgamated) 

Tauranga District Council 

Tauranga District Council

Notified 18 January 1997, Operative 18 August 2003, excluding coastal hazard provisions which became Operative 19 February 2005. 

Tauranga District Plan 

Tauranga District Council 

Western Bay of Plenty 

20 July 2002 

Western Bay of Plenty District Plan 

Areas at Tauriko and Pyes Pa 

The operative plans replaced by this Plan are the Tauranga District Plan and portions of the Western Bay of Plenty District Plan at Tauriko and Pyes Pa.

Definitions from this section



the city

the plan


Tauranga City Council, Private Bag 12022, Tauranga, 3143, New Zealand  |  Terms of use

Back To Top