× Search
  1. Home
  2. 1-Plan Overview
  3. 2-Issues Overview
  4. 3-Definitions
    1. A
    2. B
    3. C
    4. D
    5. E
    6. F
    7. G
    8. H
    9. I
    10. K
    11. L
    12. M
    13. N
    14. O
    15. P
    16. R
    17. S
    18. T
    19. U
    20. V
    21. W
    22. XYZ
  5. 4-General Rules
  6. 5-Natural Environment
  7. 6-Natural Features & Landscapes
  8. 7-Heritage
  9. 8-Natural Hazards
  10. 9-Hazardous Substances & Contaminated Land
  11. 10-Network Utilities & Designations
  12. 11-Financial Contributions
  13. 12-Subdivision Services & Infrastructure
    1. 12A-Purpose: Subdivision
    2. 12B-Subdivision in Residential Zones
    3. 12C-Subdivision in the Rural Residential Zone
    4. 12D-Subdivision in the Rural Zones
    5. 12E-Subdivision in Commercial & Industrial Zones
    6. 12F-Subdivision: Marae, Papakainga & Matapihi
    7. 12G-Purpose: Service & Infrastructure
  14. 13-Open Space
  15. 14-Residential Zones
  16. 15-Rural Residential Zone
  17. 16-Rural Zones
  18. 17-Commercial Zones
  19. 18-Industrial Zones
  20. 19-Education Centre Zones
  21. 20-Special Use Zone-Baypark
  22. Part B Maps
Tauranga City Plan

13A.2 Purpose of the Active Open Space Zone and Active Open Space Zone (Major)

Updated 4 November 2014

The Active Open Space Zone applies to the City’s larger parks and reserves that are primarily used for organised sport and events, usually with associated buildings and structures. These areas are also used for passive purposes and provide large areas of open green space.

The Plan provisions recognise the intensive use made of these areas, and the need to provide sufficient facilities to support these uses while retaining a park or reserves open space character and amenity values.

Within the Active Open Space Zone there are 2 Recreation and Leisure Scheduled Sites.

The Recreation and Leisure Scheduled Site provisions enable the ability of existing activities to continue to operate and develop through special permitted activity rules. Each Recreation and Leisure Scheduled Site is afforded specific Objectives and Policies which enable appropriate assessment of activities to guide development. In the event of any inconsistency between Scheduled Sites Objectives and Policies and the underlying zone Objectives and Policies, the specific Scheduled Sites Objectives and Policies shall prevail.

The 2 Scheduled Sites are:

  1. Elizabeth Street;
  2. 10 Salisbury Avenue.

Coupled with the Active Open Space Zone is the Active Open Space Zone (Major) which applies to reserves expected to contain larger facilities. The purpose of identifying these reserves specifically is to allow larger buildings and structures, including the provision for more intensive activities and events to occur on them.

The Active Open Space Zone (Major) applies to:

  1. Blake Park;
  2. Gordon Spratt Reserve;
  3. Waipuna Park;
  4. Parau Farms;
  5. Greerton Park;
  6. Tauranga/Wharepai Domain;
  7. Papamoa East (future reserve).

Definitions in this section



the city

the plan



Tauranga City Council, Private Bag 12022, Tauranga, 3143, New Zealand  |  Terms of use

Back To Top